Skip to content

December 9, 2009

1

Rigor of class and questioning

by Chris Lindholm

In Tony Wagner's book The Global Achievement Gap, he states:

Rather than look only at what teachers are doing, I try to assess what students are being asked to do: the specific skills and knowledge that students are expected to master and the level of intellectual challenge in the lesson.  What the teacher does is the means by which the students learn – not the end…  I have consistently found that the kinds of questions students are asked and the extent to which a teacher challenges students to explain their thinking or expand on their answers are reliable indicators of the level of intellectual rigor in a class.  If the questions require only factual recall – which is most often the case – then students are probably not being asked to do very much in the way of reasoning, analysis, or hypothesizing – and the primary skill being taught is memorization.  If I see this pattern in a number of classes, then I can reliably predict how well a school's students might perform on an essay exam or how well prepared they are for college.  p. 52-53

How would Wagner evaluate your classroom?  Out of the approximately 250 minutes a week in your class, are students doing more factual recall or are they analyzing, synthesizing, and evaluating?  How many papers – real papers – are students asked to write in a semester?  Are students frequently engaged in rigorous discussion and debate, possibly in small groups so all are engaged instead of just a few, and asked to support their arguments?  Wagner's questions and statements seem to line up directly with the Rigor and Relevance framework being used in our school…  Thoughts? 

Read more from Uncategorized
1 Comment Post a comment
  1. Jason Larson
    Dec 15 2009

    “We have a test today? What is it on?” I feel like I have heard that numerous times this year. I post test dates, review the day before, remind daily about the upcoming test, etc. How is that a portion of the classes still don’t know we have a test? I feel like I have been challenging my students to go beyond quadrant A and into D. On a recent test I had some quadrant a questions and the students did miserably on that section. Do I let that slide and focus on the analysis part? I don’t remember facts that well and will never be on Jeopardy, yet I still force kids to study their notes to memorize fact for a portion of the test. I’m done with that. Now I’m stuck with how much analysis I can handle. One question tests? Take home? I’m okay with that.
    I gave a take home lab write up earlier this year. 97% of my honors passed with almost a perfect paper—followed the rubric to the tee. Guess I have to come up with new ways to challenge them now. No more lab reports since they mastered it.
    What is next? Not sure, but it can’t be more of the same. Now if I can just figure out how to get access to the technology that I need I’ll be ready to roll with more and more authentic assessments. Oh wait, the computer labs are booked until May. Help?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

